MaxWell User Meeting 2021

In-Vitro 2D & 3D Neuronal Networks Summit (MaxWell User Meeting)

Every Cell Has A Story To Tell – Everyone Has An Experience To Share

 

 

We are excited to announce that we are organizing the first Maxwell Biosystems User Meeting this April!

This interactive virtual event is open to everyone interested in Neuroscience, Cell Biology and Bioengineering! We prepared an exciting scientific program, with very interesting speakers, covering a wide range of topics, from iPSC-derived neurons to retinal and brain organoids. Whether you are an expert in microelectrode array technology, a newcomer in the field, or just wondering what the technology can be used for, there will be something for you to learn. We want to bring scientists from all over the world together and foster scientific exchange and collaboration.

The event will take place over two days: the first day will be open to everybody and the second day is exclusive for MaxWell users. Join us and connect with scientists in the field of in-vitro 2D and 3D neuronal networks worldwide!

When?

Thursday, April 22, 2021 – Friday, April 23, 2021

Confirmed speakers

  • Dr. Kenta Shimba, Group of Prof. Yasuhiko Jimbo, University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Prof. Nael Nadil Kasri, Donders Institute for Brain Cognition and Behaviour, Netherlands
  • Prof. Andreas Hierlemann, Bio Engineering Laboratory, D-BSSE, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Martina de Gennaro, Group of Prof. Botond Roska, IOB, Switzerland
  • Ana Rita Gomes, Group of Prof. Joaquim M. Sampaio Cabral, University of Lisbon, Portugal
  • Dr. Silvia Benito-Kwiecinski, Group of Prof. Madeline Lancaster, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge Biomedical Campus, England
  • Prof. Kenneth Kosik, Neurobiology Lab, UC Santa Barbara, USA
  • Dr. Mojtaba Bandarabadi, Group of Prof. Mehdi Tafti, University of Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Dr. Pierre Yger, Institut de la Vision, France

…. and more to come!

 

Register here

By registering, you agree that we communicate with you regarding this event or upcoming events. You will be able to unsubscribe at any time.
In case you encounter any difficulties registering using this form, please do not hesitate to send us an email and we will gladly help you!




Please choose which days you would like to register for. Note that only MaxWell Users will be accepted during the second day.

Program (CET time)

Day 1 – Open to all

Morning9:00 - 11:35 (CEST) | 16:00 - 18:35 (JST) | 3:00 - 5:35 (EDT) | 0:00 - 2:35 (PDT)
09:00 – 09:05 –Dr. Marie Obien, VP Marketing & Sales at MaxWell Biosystems, Host of the Meeting
Opening Remarks
09:05 – 09:15 –Dr. Urs Frey, CEO of MaxWell Biosytems
Welcome Address
09:15 – 09:45 –Dr. Kenta Shimba, Prof. Yasuhiko Jimbo Lab, University of Tokyo, Japan
Talk – Title to be announced
09:45 – 10:15 –Prof. Nael Nadif Kasri, Donders Institute for Brain, Cognition and Behaviour, Netherlands
Combined Micro-electrode Array Recordings with Transcriptomics of Human-derived
Neurons to Unveil Mechanisms Underlying Neurodevelopmental Disorders
10:15 – 10:20 –Coffee Break
10:20 – 10:50 –Prof. Andreas Hierlemann, Bio Engineering Laboratory, D-BSSE. ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Development of HD-MEAs and Applications
10:50 – 11:20 –Panel Discussion
Functional Characterization of Human iPSC-derived Neurons - Technologies and Challenges
11:20 – 11:30 –Closing Remarks

Afternoon 15:30 - 18:35 (CEST) | 22:30 - 01:35 (JST) | 9:30 - 12:35 (EDT) | 6:30 - 9:35 (PDT)
15:30 – 15:35 –Dr. Marie Obien, VP Marketing & Sales at MaxWell Biosystems, Host of the Meeting
Opening Remarks
15:35 – 15:45 –Dr. Urs Frey, CEO of MaxWell Biosystems
Welcome Address
15:45 – 16:15 –Martina de Gennaro, Group of Prof. Botond Roska, IOB, Switzerland
Morphological, Functional, Transcriptomic Correlation of Retinal Organoids
to the Human Retina
16:15 – 16:45 –Ana Rita Gomes, Group of Prof. Joaquim M. Sampaio Cabral, University of Lisbon, Portugal
Modelling Rett Syndrome with Human Patient-Specific Forebrain Organoids
16:45 – 17:00 –Coffee Break
17:00 – 17:30 –Dr. Silvia Benito-Kwiecinski, Group of Prof. Madeline Lancaster,
MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge Biomedical Campus, England
An Early Cell Shape Transition Drives Evolutionary Expansion of the Human Forebrain
17:30 – 18:00 –Prof. Kenneth Kosik, Neurobiology Lab, UC Santa Barbara, USA
Intrinsic Network Activity in Human Brain Organoids
18:00 – 18:30 –Panel Discussion
Current Advancements in Brain Organoid / Spheroid Research and Applications
18:30 – 18:40 –Closing Remarks

Day 2 – Exclusive to MaxWell Users

Morning
09:00 - 09:05 –Dr. Marie Obien, VP Marketing & Sales at MaxWell Biosystems, Host of the Meeting
Opening Remarks
09:05 – 09:20 –Dr. Urs Frey, CEO of MaxWell Biosystems
CEO Message
09:20 – 09:50 –Presentation
09:50 – 10:20 –Panel Discussion
10:20 – 10:50 –Dr. Mojtaba Bandarabadi, Prof. Mehdi Tafti Lab, University of Lausanne, Switzerland
In-vitro Generation of Sleep Spindles and Slow Waves Using Thalamo-Cortical
co-cultures
10:50 – 11:20 –“Tips & Tricks” Discussion
11:20 – 11:30 –Closing Remarks

Afternoon
16:00 - 16:05 –Dr. Marie Obien, VP Marketing & Sales at MaxWell Biosystems, Host of the Meeting
Opening Remarks
16:05 – 16:45 –Q&A Session
16:45 – 17:15 –Showcase
17:15 – 17:45 –Dr. Pierre Yger, Institut de la Vision, France
Spyking Cicrus - Fast and accurate spike sorting for thousands of channels
17:45 – 18:15 –“Tips & Tricks” Session
18:15 – 18:20 –Closing Remarks

Contacts










Albisriederstrasse 253
8047 Zurich, Switzerland

+41 44 244 24 24

Schedule a call

info@mxwbio.com

Subscribe to our Newsletter